Preparing for Parenthood

Partners and support people are welcome!


About the program

At the program sessions you will get:

  • Support from both Early Years and Public Health Professionals
  • Free Early Learning Family Programs
  • Access to Early Years Centre and Public Health resources and information
  • Healthy snacks

Take a look at the Preparing for Parenthood (Kitchener, Waterloo) brochure to see where and when the current program is taking place.

You are welcome to start at any time. No need to wait for a new series to begin!


Program topics, locations, and registration information - 2017

YMCA Ontario Early Years Centre - January, February, April, May, September, October sessions

Our Place Family Resource & Early Years Centre - February, March, May, June, October, November sessions

1. YMCA Ontario Early Years Centre - Tuesdays 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m.

161 Roger Street, Waterloo
Please call 519-741-8585 to register

 Dates  Topic
Tuesday, January 10 Me? Breastfeed? Workshop
Tuesday, January 17 Getting to know your community resources
Tuesday, January 24 Birth plans and partnering with your healthcare provider
Tuesday, January 31 Falling in love with your baby - attachment and reading your baby's cues
Tuesday, February 7

Taking care of your mental health

Tuesday, February 14 Valentine's Day special
Tuesday, April 11 Me? Breastfeed? Workshop
Tuesday, April 18 Getting to know your community resources
Tuesday, April 25 Car seat safety
Tuesday, May 2 Taking care of your mental health - self regulation
Tuesday, May 9 Healthy eating for a healthy baby
Tuesday, May 16 Safety in the home
Tuesday, September 5 TBD
Tuesday, September 12 TBD
Tuesday, September 19 TBD
Tuesday, September 26 TBD
Tuesday, October 3 TBD
Tuesday, October 10 TBD
Tuesday, October 17 TBD
Tuesday, October 24 TBD

2. Our Place Family Resource & Early Years Centre - Tuesdays (Sep-Nov) - 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m.

154 Gatewood Avenue, Kitchener
Please call 519-571-1626 ext. 33 to register

Dates Topic
Tuesday, February 21

Baby basics

Tuesday, February 28 Preparing for baby - What do you need? Want? What should you avoid?
Tuesday, March 7 Birth plans and partnering with your healthcare provider
Tuesday, March 21 Healthy living when pregnant
Tuesday, March 28 Self care is important
Tuesday, April 4 Sensory development in your baby - make and take session
Tuesday, May 23 Baby basics
Tuesday, May 30 Creating a safe environment - top 5 tips
Tuesday, June 6 Comfort measures and relaxation techniques during labour and birth
Tuesday, June 13 Your family's dental health
Tuesday, June 20 Taking care of your mental health - Let's get physical
Tuesday, June 27 Nutrition
Tuesday, November 7 TBD
Tuesday, November 14 TBD
Tuesday, November 21 TBD
Tuesday, November 28 TBD
Tuesday, December 5 TBD
Tuesday, December 12 TBD

Questions

If you have questions about planning a pregnancy or being pregnant, call:

Region of Waterloo Public Health, 519-575-4400

eSolutionsGroup